User Stories

In this post I will illustrate using a technique called “User Stories” the functionality that the platform must present, to fulfil the needs of its users. The “User Stories” technique asks the designer/developer to fill in a small template with the necessary details, the temple is as follows:

“As a <role>, I want <goal/desire> so that <benefit>

This template then illustrates the individual user need, for each respective goal they have. The detail present in each individual user story can vary largely. The below examples show my completion of this task, considering both the external and internal aspects of the platform and involving three of the key user groups (UCD, Accounts and CEs). The examples are then followed by a discussion of the resulting conclusions:

External insights

  • As a UCD team member, I want to gather customer & consumer insights so that I can improve on the current product delivery.
  • As an Accounts Manager, I want to gather customer & consumer insights so that I can provide a better service to my customers.
    • As an Accounts Manager, I want to provide a better service to my customers so that I can receive a higher commission.
  • As a CE, I want to gather customer & consumer insights so that I can gain reward points.
    • As a CE, I want to receive reward points so that I can exchange them for the things I want.
  • As a CE, I want to gather customer & consumer insights so that I can aid to improve the current system for product maintenance, easing my job.

Internal Insights

  • As a UCD team member, I want to observe and take part in internal discussions so that I am more informed of the situations that could/can be remedied at the product development stage.
    • As a UCD team member, I want to be more informed of the situations that could/can be remedied at the product development stage so that I can alter them and receive kudos.
  • As an Accounts Manager, I want to observe and take part in internal discussions so that I am able to feed my input I to the wider company.
    • As an Accounts Manager, I want to feed my input into the wider company so that I build social capital and receive a sense of self-worth.
  • As an Accounts Manager, I want to observe and take part in internal discussions so that I am able to receive peer support when tackling an issue.
  • As a CE, I want to observe and take part in internal discussions so that I am able to improve my current ease of work.
    • As a CE, I want to improve my current ease of work so that I am able to complete a job efficiently.
  • As a CE, I want to observe and take part in internal discussions so that I am able to feed my input I to the wider company.
    • As a CE, I want to feed my input into the wider company so that I build social capital and receive a sense of self-worth.

From this exercise it can be concluded that the main user goals all revolve around improving product delivery/efficiency as well as receiving personal kudos and self-worth. It can therefore be stated that these aspects must make a strong appearance within the platform and act as the motivational driver.

I now intent to map out the functional structure of the platform as well as to sketch prototype the individual interfaces for both a mobile and web version.

Leave a Reply

