Slip Casting Preparation: Clay Modelling

I’m at the stage now in which I need to start creating working prototypes. As I intend to do this via a slip casting process I must first finalise the form I would like to cast. I decided that the best way to do this and test it would be by creating some models using wet clay. Using wet clay I was able to make subtle changes to the form and come to an appropriate design with minimal problems. I used red earthenware to sculpt the form I desired as it is very malleable for a large amount of time and will air harden after a few days. This allows the models to be handled easily without having to be fired in the kiln.

Photo 12-02-2014 14 57 30Photo 14-02-2014 11 21 49Photo 12-02-2014 16 51 38Photo 12-02-2014 16 51 06

The results have allowed me to make amendments to my past perceptions for my final, giving me confidence in the products functionality. As can be seen in the image above the model serving vessel does not sport a handle. This is because the vessel is designed to be picked up via its exaggerated lip around its neck. I was able to prototype this interaction using the air dried model. The next step is to create a solid plaster model and begin the lengthy slip casting process.

Leave a Reply

